Sharing Kindness to Make a Soul Bloom

Every day we make decisions that have the potential to make someone else’s day. Acts of kindness may be extraordinary or straightforward, but still are meaningful to those on the receiving end. It can also make you feel good to be the reason for someone’s smile. We often give and receive flowers on important days, like graduations, recitals, weddings, funerals, birthdays, holidays, etc., but ordinary days lead to the flowers having a more substantial impact.

Girl in blue dress holding pink bouquet on lawn
Laurier Convocation Day Flowers from my Parents
The core result from performing acts of kindness is that someone is cared about and, ultimately, know that they matter.

Giving flowers is a common way (and a great way!) to spread some love. I recently received a bouquet of flowers unexpectedly, and they were so beautiful! It brightened my day when they arrived. It meant a lot that someone went out of their way to make sure I knew I was appreciated. Time, money and effort went into my flower delivery.

Girl holding bouquet of orange and purple flowers on deck.
AOAA Appreciation Flowers from Susan Fletcher

When giving flowers, some people opt for the cut varieties and bouquets. Others may choose to give someone a living plant. I believe it is important to think about the person who will be receiving the flowers. Will they have the energy and space to maintain a living plant? Will they have a party where they can display a bouquet on the table? If you’re sending them to a busy mother, maybe she would prefer the beauty of cut flowers without having to care for another tiny living being.

Here are some flower and plant gift suggestions if you know their birthday. It’s a fun way to make your kind act even more personal.

PSA: Be sure to check potted plants for pests before you buy them or give them away. One year for Valentine’s Day, my dad bought my mom a red rose bush and me a pink one. There were aphids galore!! They ended up destroying some other plants we had nearby in the house too. I still loved my roses for as long as I had the chance to appreciate them though!

Whatever choice you make, it still can make someone else have a more wonderful day. I think the best thing to do is to support a local business, but there are many ways to find and order flowers.

If you’re located near Barrie, check out any of these florist’s shops:
If you’re located in Kitchener/Waterloo, this is my top pick:

The best thing is that it is relatively easy to find flowers. If you don’t have time for delivery or want something quick without an order, you can find bouquets and small potted plants all over – even in the core of Toronto. Check out markets, grocery stores, convenience stores or home stores (think of The Home Depot, Canadian Tire or IKEA).

Flowers can act as a motivator to keep up the great work or to hold on when life gets extra tough. They act as a little boost that goes a long way! If you are able, I suggest you send some flowers this month to someone you care about and let them know that they are on your mind. Maybe, just maybe, they will pass along the kindness too.

Girl in pink dress holding pink and yellow flowers
Birthday Flowers from my Parents
This next piece is more of a P.S. or tidbit of the day:

An interesting perspective from Kimoni was shared to me through a message from one of my colleagues and friends, Orode Uwawah. I will warn you – his other posts are not related to plants and are NSFW. In this video, he compares having plants to being in relationships – both require care and dedication. While I agree with most of his points, I disagree with some. He starts the video talking about a woman who doesn’t want men to give her flowers because she doesn’t want to take care of them. Kimoni associates this statement with her not having time for him either. I think it’s valid for someone to not want plants depending on the effort they have to put in, but it would depend on the priorities of that individual. If they have a genuinely busy schedule and cannot handle sharing attention to anyone or thing other than themselves, then that would cause me concern as a potential suitor. However, if someone simply has no interest in plants, then that does not mean they can’t be a great romantic partner or friend.

View this post on Instagram

TAG SOMEBODY WHO NEEDS TO HEAR THIS

A post shared by pure relief massage therapy (@mr.purerelief) on

Let me know what you think. Do you like receiving flowers? If so, do you prefer cut flowers or live plants?

Don’t forget to tag @wellgrownhome on Instagram or #wellgrownhome and #WGHlove on any socials. You can share with us your favourite bouquets!

Published by sarahelletyler

I run Well-Grown Home, a plant blog, with passion. I'm additionally interested in public relations, video editing, painting, photography, makeup and communications.

One thought on “Sharing Kindness to Make a Soul Bloom

Comments are closed.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started